1990 - 1999

50 years of Gummi-Jäger

Humans Shaping the Future

 

50 years of Gummi-Jäger was enthusiastically celebrated in Hanover by all staff, 1992. The company remains loyal to the success concept of its founders: motivated, engaged professionals who assume responsibility within their divisions and express strong company identification.

 

Even today, the theme "apprenticeship" is written in capital letters at Jaeger. 420 apprentices have completed their education within the company since it began.

Production site in Misburg

Occupying New Markets

 

To meet the further growth of rubber and plastic products, in 1992 a new location was established in Hanover-Misburg.

 

One particular concentration in this regard is rubber membranes for treating industrial and community wastewater. This product was developed by Arnold Jäger and his sons in the context of the environmental discussions emerging at the start of the 80s and has come to save great amounts of energy in wastewater treatment around the world.

 

The product resulted in development of the companies Jäger Umwelt-Technik in Hanover and Jaeger Rubber & Plastics in Shenzhen, China.

Jäger family

Family Company Jäger

 

Far-sighted entrepreneurs Arnold and Regina Jäger lead the Jaeger Group of Companies into the next generation. Succession planning for the entry of the third generation was originated with professional assistance.

 

To guarantee seamless transition, Arnold Jäger Holding was founded as umbrella firm for all the individual companies as well as to consolidate the central services of the Jaeger Group of Companies.

 

With Andreas and Sebastian Jäger, the third generation entered management of the Jaeger Group of Companies in 1994. Regina Jäger successively handed over Artemis company management to Sebastian Jäger, while Arnold Jäger transferred technical management of Gummi-Jäger to Andreas Jäger.

 

After complete transfer of management to Andreas and Sebastian Jäger, Arnold and Regina Jäger 1996 took positions on the Advisory Board of Arnold Jäger Holding.

Artemis Rubber USA

Customer Proximity – Even Outside Germany

Regina and Arnold Jäger focus on expanding the market in the USA. In 1994, the company Artemis Rubber Technology, Inc. was founded in the vicinity of Denver under the leadership of Regina Jäger.

Production of rubber-metal bonded parts on modern automated machines injection molding fulfils the demand for "local content" in the US automotive industry. In addition to the automotive business, a product line for consumer products was constructed with a regional customer. Later, membranes for wastewater treatment were incorporated into the production program.

Broekema Veendam

Future Market Agricultural Technology

 

In 1996 came the opportunity to acquire the current market leader for belted chain conveyors, the Dutch company Ernst August Broekema in Veendam, along with its US daughter company Broekema Beltway USA in Hinckley, Minnesota. The decades-long association between the company families Broekema and Jäger and their similar company philosophies eased integration of Broekema into the Jaeger Group of Companies. Eventually the cultural differences also proved to enrich the company in an economic sense. Mastery of foreign languages is gaining ever more significance. Today the divisions Artemis in Hanover, Broekema in Veendam, Broekema Beltway in Pine City and the replacement parts specialist Windgassen in Paderborn comprise a production alliance. The belted chain conveyor product underwent further development towards a wide range of applications. With Jäger agricultural machinery belts, harvesting processes of numerous crops such as potatoes, sugar beets, tomatoes, peanuts, pasturage and sod, even mussels, were decisively improved.

J.H. Lerch & Co.

Expansion in Technical Trade

 

In 1996, the technical wholesale firm J.H. Lerch & Co., Hanover, was also taken over. In addition to technical products, Lerch was concentrated in occupational safety.

 

This technical company was integrated into Gummi-Jäger; Lerch was extended to a supraregionally operative specialist for personal protective equipment.

 

To strengthen the focus on rubber and plastic technology, in 2009 the majority of Lerch was merged with the occupational safety division of the company Mühlberger, Wiesbaden, to Mühlberger-Lerch Arbeitsschutz GmbH. Today the company is successful in supporting customers throughout Germany and Europe from its locations in Hanover and Wiesbaden.

1990 - 1999

50 Jahre Gummi-Jäger
50 Jahre Gummi-Jäger

Menschen gestalten Zukunft

 

Das 50-jährige Bestehen der Firma Gummi-Jäger wird 1992 mit allen Mitarbeitern ausgiebig in Hannover gefeiert. Das Unternehmen bleibt dem Erfolgskonzept des Firmengründers treu: motivierte, engagierte Fachleute, die in ihrem Bereich eigenverantwortlich arbeiten und sich mit ihrem Unternehmen identifizieren.

 

Bis heute wird das Thema Ausbildung groß geschrieben. In den verschiedenen Ausbildungsberufen konnten seit der Firmengründung 420 Auszubildende ihre Ausbildung im Unternehmen abschließen.

Produktion in Misburg
Produktion in Misburg

Neue Märkte besetzen

 

Um dem weiteren Wachstum von Gummi- und Kunststoff-Produkten gerecht zu werden, wird 1992 ein neuer Standort in Hannover-Misburg errichtet.

 

Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt liegt hierbei auf Gummi-Membranen zur Behandlung von industriellen und kommunalen Abwässern. Ein Produkt, das Arnold Jäger zusammen mit seinen Söhnen im Zuge der aufkommenden Umweltschutz-Diskussion Anfang der 80er-Jahre entwickelt hat und mit dem bei der Abwasserreinigung weltweit große Mengen an Energie eingespart werden.

 

Aus diesen Produkten haben sich die Firmen Jäger Umwelt-Technik in Hannover und Jaeger Rubber & Plastics in Shenzhen, China entwickelt.

Familie Jäger
Familie Jäger

Familienunternehmen Jäger

 

Als weitsichtige Unternehmer bereiten Arnold und Regina Jäger die Fortführung der Jäger Gruppe für die nächste Generation vor. Mit professioneller Hilfe entsteht eine Nachfolgeplanung für den Einstieg der dritten Generation.

 

Um einen reibungslosen Übergang zu gewährleisten, wird die Arnold Jäger Holding gegründet, unter deren Dach alle Einzelfirmen sowie die zentralen Dienste der Jäger Gruppe zusammen gefasst werden.

 

Mit Andreas und Sebastian Jäger tritt 1994 die dritte Generation in die Geschäftsführung der Jäger Gruppe ein. Regina Jäger übergibt sukzessive die Geschäftsführung der Artemis an Sebastian Jäger, während Arnold Jäger die technische Geschäftsführung von Gummi-Jäger Andreas Jäger überträgt.

 

Nach vollständiger Übertragung der Geschäftsführung auf Andreas und Sebastian Jäger, wechseln Arnold und Regina Jäger 1996 in den Beirat der Arnold Jäger Holding.

Artemis Rubber USA
Artemis Rubber USA

Kundennähe – auch im Ausland

 

Regina und Arnold Jäger fokussieren sich auf den Ausbau des Marktes in den USA. In der Nähe von Denver wird 1994 unter Leitung von Regina Jäger die Firma Artemis Rubber Technology, Inc. gegründet.

Die Fertigung von Gummi-Metall-Verbindungen auf modernsten Spritzguß-Automaten erfüllt die Forderung deutscher Zulieferer nach „local content“ für die US-Automobil-Industrie. Neben dem Automobil-Geschäft wird mit einem regionalen Kunden eine Produktlinie für Konsumentenprodukte aufgebaut. Ergänzend dazu werden später Membranen für die Abwasserbehandlung in das Produktionsprogramm aufgenommen.

Broekema Veendam
Broekema Veendam

Zukunftsmarkt Agrartechnik

 

Im Bereich Agrartechnik bietet sich 1996 die Möglichkeit, den damaligen Marktführer für Siebstabbänder, die niederländische Firma Ernst August Broekema in Veendam mit ihrer US-Tochter Broekema Beltway USA in Hinckley, Minnesota, zu übernehmen. Die jahrzehntelange Bekanntschaft der Unternehmerfamilien Broekema und Jäger und die ähnlichen Unternehmensphilosophien erleichtern die zügige Integration von Broekema in die Jäger Gruppe. Nach und nach bereichern die Kulturunterschiede auch in wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht das Geschäft. Das Beherrschen von Fremdsprachen gewinnt immer mehr an Bedeutung. Heute bilden die Sparte „Riemen und Bänder“ der Artemis in Hannover, Broekema in Veendam, Broekema Beltway in Pine City und der Ersatzteilspezialist Windgassen in Paderborn einen Produktionsverbund. Das Produkt „Siebstabband“ wurde für vielerlei Anwendungen weiterentwickelt. Mit Hilfe des Jäger-Landmaschinenriemens konnten die Ernteverfahren vieler Früchte wie Kartoffeln, Zuckerrüben, Tomaten, Erdnüsse, Gras und Rollrasen bis hin zu Muscheln entschieden verbessert werden.

J.H. Lerch & Co.
J.H. Lerch & Co.

Ergänzung im technischen Handel

 

1996 wurde ebenfalls die Technische Großhandlung J.H. Lerch & Co., Hannover, übernommen. Neben technischen Produkten lag der Schwerpunkt von Lerch auf dem Arbeitschutz.

 

Das technische Geschäft wurde in Gummi-Jäger integriert und Lerch zu einem überregional tätigen Spezialisten für Persönliche Schutzausrüstung ausgebaut.

 

Im Rahmen der Fokussierung auf Gummi- und Kunststoff-Technik wird die Mehrheit von Lerch 2009 mit der Arbeitsschutz-Sparte der Firma Mühlberger, Wiesbaden, zur Mühlberger-Lerch Arbeitsschutz GmbH fusioniert. Von den Standorten Hannover und Wiesbaden aus betreut das Unternehmen heute erfolgreich Kunden in Deutschland und Europa.